He exults over us

I recently stumbled across a friend’s video post featuring his baby daughter talking. She is quite literally one of the cutest toddlers I know and the fact that she is now talking gives me major heart eyes.

My friend coached the little cutie through identifying herself (as she pointed to her belly with a tiny squishy finger and gleefully proclaimed her name), and then mentioned her “mama,” “dada,” and her brother.

In the midst of encouraging her to use all her words, her dad marveled aloud, as if to himself, “Oh, you’re so beautiful!”

STAAAHHHP. So freaking cute.

And then the Holy Spirit decided to use this to remind me of how our Heavenly Father marvels over us.

Often when I think about God, I have a horrible tendency to shrink my perception of His incredible, glorious character down to something human that I can understand.

So I often perceive God as a grumpy father-figure who keeps a tally of my rebellious heart and hourly screw-ups with increasing annoyance. As He eyes me disapprovingly from above, I imagine Him saying, “Like sure, I love you, but I don’t LIKE you right now.”

Can you relate?

Let’s ditch our ridiculous caricatures of our Heavenly Father and reacquaint ourselves with Him by reading His Word. The Bible shows us again and again who God really is, glimpses of His mind-blowing, cosmic, multi-faceted glory woven throughout all of Scripture.

Zephaniah 3:17 declares:

“The Lord your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will exult over you with loud singing.”

The phrases picked to describe God’s attitude towards us are not grumpy, judgmental, or distant – instead, they say that God is in our midst, quieting our hearts while rejoicing and exulting over us with His love.

It says that God sings over us. SINGS.

Jeremiah 31:3 proclaims:

“When Israel sought for rest, the Lord appeared to him from far away. I have loved you with an everlasting love; therefore I have continued my faithfulness to you.”

Again, not annoyed and fed-up. Everlastingly loving and faithful.

The Lord isn’t disillusioned about who He’s loving, either, since He created us and knows our hearts completely. Isaiah 43:1 states:

“But now thus says the Lord, he who created you, O Jacob, he who formed you, O Israel: ‘Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are mine.'”

If you’re a Christian, God loves you like crazy because you’re His child and made righteous through Jesus’s sacrifice. If you’re not a Christian, I pray that the Lord draw you to Himself and show you your need for Jesus’s forgiveness and how loved, redeemed, and “marveled over” you are by your Creator.

Ephesians 2:4-7 emphasizes the security we can find in this truth:

“But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ – by grace you have been saved – and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the coming ages he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Chris Jesus.”

Now, I’ve been blessed with a fantastic father who cherishes me and continues to lead me to Christ, but he’s not a perfect dad, since he’s still a sinner like me.

So how much MORE must our Heavenly Father love us!

Because we are completely forgiven and made righteous in Jesus, the Lord truly looks at us and marvels, proclaiming over us, “Oh, you’re so beautiful!”

One thought on “He exults over us

Leave a Reply

